Red Bull: Continued Dominance in a Saturated Market

No offense to Wednesday’s guest speaker, Richard Tait, but I can’t stand energy drinks and I don’t understand why many people habitually consume them. Nevertheless, I have always been impressed with Red Bull’s continued popularity considering the massive amount of choices out there. It is not easy for any company to stay dominant in a saturated market, even if that company created the market.  Competitors who charge much less, and some say have better tasting products, are everywhere yet Red Bull stays dominant much in part to its marketing strategy. The brand also seems to be everywhere, from red bull can-formed cars passing out free product on the street to its sponsorship of extreme sports, like airplane acrobatics, or conventional (and really expensive) deals like its multi-year championship winning formula 1 teams and ownership (and actual naming) of soccer clubs (Red Bull New York of MLS and Red Bull Salzburg of Austria).  I have never been able to understand how Red Bull could spend so much money on marketing considering my perceived understanding of the market and their revenues. Now on to the research…

Because US Market Data is more accessible, I discovered that Red Bull controls about 40% of the US market, with its closest competitor being Monster and its plethora of varieties (in 70 countries, Red Bull controls between 70-90% of the energy drink market). Red Bull’s 2010 Revenues were $5.1 billion, bigger than I thought they would be.  Since Red Bull is a private company,  complete company financials are difficult to obtain but I just wanted to run some assumed numbers to figure out the marketing impact on Red Bull’s bottom line. It is estimated that Red Bull spends 1/3 of its marketing budget on Formula 1 racing, which cost it $690 million in 2011. Assuming a contribution margin of 50% (2.55 billion –  after production and transport costs) , a marketing expenditure of $2.1 billion  (84% of gross profits)  sounds like a staggering amount. The company has gone a long way since successfully implementing buzz marketing tactics since its US debut in 1997.

Further reading about the brand provides a readily shared opinion that Red Bull, an Austrian company, is essentially a marketing company that sells a product that originated in Thailand. Although I don’t think that the statement that it is purely a marketing company is entirely accurate, since Red Bull owns the recipe and controls the distribution, it still explains why Red Bull would spend so much on marketing.

Referenced Links:

http://www.experience.com/alumnus/article?channel_id=advertising_marketing_pr&source_page=additional_articles&article_id=article_1128702070987

http://www.ubciweek.com/energy-drink/energy-drink-market-history-growth-projections-trends-and-the-uncertain-future-of-energy-drinks.html

http://www.ebrolcreative.com/marketing_gallery/Red_Bull_Marketing_Plan_2011.pdf

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/06/11/red-bulls-investment-in-f1-tops-690-million/

26 thoughts on “Red Bull: Continued Dominance in a Saturated Market

  1. For the duration of a modern purchased of strep, I utilised a
    organic kelp. I had a cup of Kelp tea created with two capsules just
    about every 2 hrs. Kelp is high in Iodine which kills
    microbes on contact plus they can not build resistance
    to it. It practically cleared my an infection in below 24
    hours. Iodine is essential for the properly functioning thyroid and western dependent meal plans are deficient in it.

    .. It is normal so no facet effects.

  2. The virus without having obtaining fever in the event you experienced close contact with all the virus
    without having fever should you had close get in touch with with all the
    virus with out possessing fever. The virus with
    no owning fever should you really should get checked immediately.

  3. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing
    my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Cheers!

  4. Your current post provides verified useful to myself.

    It’s very helpful and you are certainly really educated of this type.
    You possess exposed our eyes to be able to various opinion of this specific
    subject matter using interesting and strong articles.

  5. Označiti vedar plaža zamišljeno mrziti čuvajte.
    Sve sanjati brojeve telefona ćete čvrsto.Sanovnik sanjati com
    zgrabiti iskustvo sanjati razbijeno jaje. Namjena loše vodopad rado ubod tamo.

    Njemu sanjarica poplava u stanu emg, manje.
    Sanjarica šišmiš kašalj da sanovnik sanjati mutnu vodu

  6. We stumbled over here by a different website and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to going
    over your web page for a second time.

  7. Gamers are absolutely cost-free to make a decision on through the great deal greater
    than 40 champions to benefit from which permits it to customise them by means of masteries, runes and summoner
    abilities to further enhance the champions unique keep
    out style and design (or the match fanatics favored style).
    That’s acceptable, League of Legends can be a hundred% cost-free. Apart from, at this stage, you might be nevertheless lacking in abilities to attempt being bold.

  8. you are actually a good webmaster. The web site
    loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a great process on this matter!

  9. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  10. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a
    year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content
    into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  11. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress
    on various websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform.

    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  12. However, there are several online interfaces available where one needs to click on different
    types of options to send HTML code in email or to generate HTML code.
    There are many web designers who charge huge amount of
    money to do this job for you. The specific combination
    of reps, sets, exercises, and weight depends upon the desires of
    the body builder.

  13. However, there are several online interfaces available where one
    needs to click on different types of options to send HTML code in
    email or to generate HTML code. For professional web site builders extra complex laptop software
    program for net design is needed. We saw earlier that we
    could, through links to email addresses, contact directly with an email.

  14. You may notice that the concept of compensation plan may seem to be common in the networking industry.
    He knew the system well enough to not pay many of his suppliers and sub-contractors, then would cover it up up by handing out fake lien releases to make it look like they were paid.
    You can make corrections directly instead of having to
    search mistake through the code, if something does not seem
    OK for you.

  15. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.

    The problem is an issue that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I came across this during my search for something
    concerning this. In order to buy subscribers on
    youtube (www.eternalnetwork.org) for your youtube accounts, there are numerous great techniques.

    buy subscribers on youtube along with rapidly for your youtube Profile via best Suppliers.

  16. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I
    can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

  17. Pingback: Flex Pharma: What A Load Of Cramp – Seeking AlphaBLOODSUGARDIABETES.ORG | BLOODSUGARDIABETES.ORG page

Leave a Reply

