Revenizer makes you feel not quite at home

I was poking around angel.co the other day to see if there were any new web analytic companies that were worth checking out.  I wanted to find a small company (< 1MM in raised funds) that had a decent website and a cool product.  After jumping around I settled on a company called Revenizer.  They have a ‘try it before you buy it’ model so I decided to create a profile and give it a shot.

Let me start by saying that I am a tech savvy person.  My day job is deploying advanced scheduling techniques on large scale manufacturing systems and bundling custom software to assist in the execution.  If I don’t understand something I can usually figure it out in a short amount of time.  Revenizer was straightforward to log into and create a twitter dashboard, however I had trouble getting it to work for facebook.  When I tried to create a page for my facebook I kept getting this message: ‘no facebook pages exist for your account’.  I know I have facebook pages so something on Revenizer’s side is causing this error.  I tried the online help but it was not specific enough to answer this one problem.

I was hoping to get a welcome email from the company that might have info on how to contact them if I have questions.  After one day I did receive an auto-reply email “welcoming” me to the website.  The email is below:

Hello,

Welcome to Revenizer and thank you for signing up! Keep these login credentials handy in case you need them in future.

Login URL: app.revenizer.com
Registered Email: imtimcook@gmail.com

We are excited to have you with us and we’re always here to help. If you have questions, email us at support@revenizer.com and we’ll get back to you promptly.

Thanks,
The Revenizer Team

 

To be honest this email was not helpful, it wasn’t personal and wasn’t what I would expect from a smaller company.  Why wouldn’t Revenizer notice I hadn’t set up a facebook dashboard and asked me a specific question about it?  It would have made me feel a lot more appreciated if the email said something like this, “Hi, my name is (insert name here). I am (insert title here) at Revenizer.  We really appreciate you creating a profile and look forward to helping you track your online presence. I noticed you have a twitter dashboard set up but haven’t created anything else.  If you have any questions or need some tips please feel free to contact me at (insert personal business email and phone number here).  I look forward to your call/email.”

Having a more personal welcome not goes a long way to making a new customer feel at home.  Because after all, if you feel at home on a website you will spend more time there.

 

One thought on “Revenizer makes you feel not quite at home

  1. Hi,

    I am the founder of Revenizer. Just saw this, Totally agree with your thoughts. We are about to do a commercial launch (still a few bugs to iron out). Part of that process is to rework all the emails etc. Expect to see some changes soon.

    Phil

Leave a Reply

