Online shopping — skincare products

As a female customer, I have to admit that skin care product shopping is always an important part of life. Usually I would like to purchase familiar products and brands online since I don’t need to try on the samples to decide if I want to buy this product. Most time online stores have more promotions and discount, so it seems like a better choice for me. Besides, I can request for samples when I make purchase online, which means if I want to try a new product, online shopping is still convenient.

I’ve been using Elizabeth Arden fact lotion for almost a year and I decide to switch to Estée Lauder considering my skin condition. When I check the deals online, I found there are many different promotions on different website. I found there are three major ways of skin care product promotion.

  • Price discount. Usually in two forms, one is to take 15% off of entre order, and another is like take $15 off $100.
  • Free deluxe skincare sample sets when you fulfill the required purchase. Such as get a deluxe sample sets worth up to $150 when you make a $69 purchase or up.
  • Product value set. The brand will sell a series of product together in a set. For example, I can purchase a $95 value Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair & Time Zone Value Set for only $65.

Well, it’s hard to say which promotion is a better deal. The free deluxe skincare sample set sounds like an attractive deal for me at first glance, since I can get a set worth $150 when I make only $69 purchase. However, when I take a look of the set, most samples are cosmetics including lipsticks, eyeliners, mascara, etc. They are not really the products I would need, so I would probably never use them after I receive the set since I’ve already got my current cosmetic products.

Then my choice is between the product value set and direct price discount. On one website, the sell price of a 30ml Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex is $62, but I can take 15% off of the entire order. On another online shopping website, the price of an Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair & Time Zone Value Set including a 30ml Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex, a 15ml Advanced Time Zone facial cream and a 5ml Advanced Time Zone eye cream is only $65. Meanwhile, I can receive deluxe travel-size Resilience Lift Firming/Sculpting Creme SPF 15 or Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator when I purchase the value set.

Finally I bought the value set online. However, after I received a big box of the products, I realized that the only thing I need is the night repair one. Some of the lotions such as Advanced Time Zone series are not really a good fit for my skin type. Therefore, my experience is to make sure to know what you want before look into all those promotions, or you will buy way too many useless products.

http://www1.macys.com/shop/product/estee-lauder-advanced-night-repair-time-zone-value-set?ID=1065435&LinkshareID=HIDdgG1vZzM-GiJHKN1Asj3WU9Syk16ALw&PartnerID=LINKSHARE&cm_mmc=LINKSHARE-_-5-_-63-_-MP563#pdpTabs

Leave a Reply

