Hello designer’s curtains!

Last week, we finally painted our bedroom after five years of living with “builder’s beige” paint color. With new wall colors, I was excited to shop for fabric curtains until I realized there were so many options and many price points to consider. After visiting stores like Crate & Barrel, Pottery Barn, and JCPenney, I decided I was going to make my own curtains. How hard can it be to pick fabrics and sew semi-straight lines? With this ambiguous goal, I headed straight to a nearby Joann’s Fabrics store.

With a blue theme in mind, I went straight to the designer fabric section of the store and realized I am in trouble.  There are so many fabric choices and many different price points. It seems Joann’s home décor fabrics are categorized into 6 different price points ($/yard):

  • Under $ 5
  • $ 5 – 10
  • $ 10 – 25
  • $ 25 – 50
  • $ 50 – 100
  • Above $100

Fabric choices were greatest in the $25-$50 range. For customers who can’t decide, like me, you can ask for free 1” fabric swatches or you can rent a package of swatches for $25 refundable if return within 1 week.

My final choice was a “Romantic Overtures Damask Duet Robin’s Egg” at $22.49/yard – a 50% discount from original price of $44.99.  The price I paid is in-alignment with my expectations as it seems that Joann’s Fabrics is pushing for customers toward their $25-$50/yard fabric selections. Overall, I am happy with the experience. The only thing I would change is the size of swatches they give out; I would have preferred they cut bigger fabric pieces but I shouldn’t be too hard on their policy since they do have the swatch rental program.

Leave a Reply

