Rejoice, It’s Madden Season

Every year, football fans around the US and abroad wait anxiously for the new season to start. The NFL knows it. Teams know it. Everybody knows it. EA Sports puts out a new version of their Madden NFL video game for the upcoming season. Some years with major improvements to the gaming experience and other years, with not so many. I’ve bought the game in previous years mostly to play online against other people online. Since there are more people for the new game, I found myself buying the new version just to have more people to play against. After a few games, I realized I wasn’t necessarily buying the game for the “improvements” and didn’t really like that.

I heard about Madden NFL 15 via a friend online that he couldn’t wait to buy the game. Out of curiosity, I went online to find out what the new version was all about. EA Sports was really focusing on improvements to the way defense is played, in my opinion, due to the defensive dominance of the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XLVIII. The first thought that went through my mind was “I’m not getting it”. The changes sounded interesting but I didn’t want to just buy a roster upgrade.

But then, I saw this tv ad about the game and I was sold.

The ad didn’t mention any of the “upgrades” to the game. All it focused on was the competitive intensity of playing the game against other people online. That’s the reason I bought Madden. Just as I had been anxiously for the NFL season to start, I started to wait for the release of the game. Just re-watching this video has made me want to play Madden right now. And I think that’s what I’m going to do…

Leave a Reply

