Targeted Ads Blog Post #4

I am an avid user of Facebook, and have received the occasional targeted ad on Facebook that is relevant to my recent browser history. I was not not able to reproduce this for this assignment however.  I had been looking at apple products recently, and shop a lot on jack threads, but the recent ads I get in the side bar of Facebook have not been even remotely relevant to my browsing behaviors.  The ones shown below are the first two ads I see when I open Facebook.  They unfortunately have no relevance to me.  Facebook ads in general have become invisible to me recently.  It seems like my brain has learned to zone out ads, and so I do not even notice them anymore.  I cannot remember the last time, an ad has caught my attention on Facebook as of recent.  The off chance that the ad does come up, I rarely click on them.  Maybe it has something to do with my personality, in terms of myself not being so much of an impulse buyer, but rather shopping only if I’m in need, and buying only for that need.  Considering the effectiveness of these ads, I do believe they are efficient.  More so especially, than random advertisements such as the lawn service and insurance ads below.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 5.26.41 PM

Leave a Reply

